Penistone Footpath Runners

Club Championship

No pain, no gain

The 2022 Club Championship

The format of the Championship in 2022 is unchanged from the planned 2020 Championship, with many of the same races.

All the events are listed in the Calendar with links for further information – Club Championship races are identified with (C). There is also a list of events in each section at the bottom of this page.

The competition involves races across three main sections (Road, Trail/Cross-Country and Fell) plus the club mile. The Championship comprises 22 fixed races (7 from each section plus the club mile), but two of the events are local series of races: Spencer's Dash (road) and Silkstone Shuffle (trail/cross country). Members can run as many of the Spencer's Dash or Silkstone Shuffle series as they wish, and their season’s best time from each will be counted.

The club mile is an additional event which will not count towards any of the three sections. It will count towards the overall championship and the challenge championship, but it is optional – you can qualify for every part of the championship without doing the club mile, but you might pick up more points if you do run it.

This gives 22 events in the Championship competition, and all the races are listed at the bottom of this page with links for further information, as they become available.


Current standings for 2022.

Results for previous years: 2004 2005 2006 2007 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 onwards


Qualification for the section Championships and overall Championship is exactly as in recent years: to qualify for each section you need to compete in at least 3 of the section events (out of 7 events, including, if you wish, the series event, but you don’t have to run the Spencer’s Dash or Silkstone Shuffle).

To qualify for the Overall Championship you have to compete in 9 from the total of 22, with at least 2 of these races from each section. Your 9 best race scores, including the minimum of 2 from each section, will be added together to form an Overall Championship total. If you do the club mile, that can be one of your 9 qualifying events (if it is one of the 9 best scores).

All first claim members are included in the Championship. Juniors running in senior races (where permitted) will be included in the Under 20 category. Members joining (or re-joining) during the year will only have results counted from the date their subscription has been paid.


Points are calculated based on their time relative to the overall race winner (male and female respectively). This is exactly the same as the Fell League. If a PFR runner is first overall (ie first male or first female), he or she will get 100 points. If your time is exactly double the winner’s time, you get 50 points: the points are calculated on a scale so the faster you run the more points you get. For the series events, the points are based on your fastest time of the series relative to the fastest race winning time of the series.

The main advantages of this method are: 1) it means that every second you run faster will gain you points (not a lot, but something – unless you are the race winner). Beating another Penistone runner (of the same sex) in a race will always mean you get more points than them – but the bigger the gap you get the more points you gain. 2) you don’t get points as a result of other PFR runners not turning up – you get points for your own performance.

The disadvantage of this method is that your points do depend on how fast the winner is – if Mo Farah or Eilish McColgan turn up to Oughtibridge Chase, the points will go down – generally, less popular races will yeald more points. This may help boost less popular races, which is no bad thing.

The Challenge Championship will still be as it currently is – the total points from all events completed (including your best Spencers Dash and Silkstone Shuffle, and the club mile).


Your age group for the Championship in any year is determined by your age on January 1st. Prizes will be awarded for each age group for both male and female categories for each section winners, eg Fell Lady Vet 40.

  • The groups are as follows: Male U20, M Senior, MV35, MV40, MV45, MV50, MV55, MV60, MV65, MV70, MV75, MV80, Female U20, F Senior, LV35, LV40, LV45, LV50, LV55, LV60, LV65, LV70, LV75, LV80.
  • The Sections are Road, Trail/Cross Country and Fell.
  • The Overall Champions will be the Male and Female with the best scores from the 9 races needed to qualify.
  • A special prize, and title of Challenge Champion will be given to the runner who acquires the most points from all qualifying events.
  • Run as many or as few races as you want but you must compete in the correct number of races to win an award.

2022 events

All the events are listed in the Calendar with links for further information – Club Championship races are identified with (C).

Road Section
Wombwell 5M Sun 20 Feb
Norton 9M Sun 9 Mar
Spencers Dash Thu 5 May, Thu 14 Jul, Thu 1 Sep
Lindley 10K Sun 26 Jun
Vale of York Half Marathon Sun 11 Sep
Guy Fawkes 10M Sun 6 Nov
Fell Section
Hoppits Hill Race Sun 27 Feb                         
Herod Farm Wed 20 Apr
Hayfield May Queen Fri 20 May
Hope Wakes Wed 29 Jun
Crowden Horseshoe Sun 21 Aug
Shelf Moor Sun 25 Sep
Wadsworth Half Trog Sun 13 Nov
Trail/Cross Country Section
Silkstone Shuffle Thu 28 Apr, Thu 9 Jun, Thu 25 Aug
Furty Furlong Sat 14 May
Kimmy Kanter Tue 7 Jun
Oughtibridge Chase Wed 15 Jun
Higham Hurtle Thu 8 Sep
Penistone Hill Race Sun 25 Sep (TBC)
SY Cross Country League Sun 11 Dec