Penistone Footpath Runners
Published on

40-Year Anniversary Road Race

On a beautiful summer's evening 51 members of Penistone Footpath Runners turned out as part of the celebrations for the club's 40 Year Anniversary to compete in a Relay Race from Royd Moor Viewing Point. Teams of 8 running in pairs covered 40km (1km for each year). Runners that have been with the club almost from its inception through to one runner taking part in their first club session battled it out for victory in a very tight competition with only just over 2 minutes separating the teams. The winning team consisted of Martin Ball, James Mumford, Ben Malcolm, Steve Dickinson, Dean Allcroft, Paul Fryers, Steve Owen, Tracy Woodward and David Foster.

The penultimate Trunce took place in very slippery conditions with many runners struggling to stay upright. There were age category wins for Lesley Parker (over40 ladies) and Barbara Hague (over70 ladies). Richard Cottam grabbed second in the men’s over40 age category and there were third places for Phil Hinchliffe (over50 men), Martyn Goodwin (over60 men) and Helen Wright (over40 ladies). Finn Pepper finished inside the top ten in the junior race claiming 9th place in 17-23. Steve Frith took his final set of pictures at the Trunce. He has been responsible for many a great photograph as runners negotiate the river crossings. In addition he has raised large sums of money for charity, most recently the Woodhead Mountain Rescue team.

Three Penistone runners headed over to Wentworth on Thursday night to take part in Stan’s Toffee run which is four miles in length and on trails. Mark Graham was first back for the club in 35-25 followed by Kelvin Bowskill who picked up first place in the men’s over70 category. Heather Graham was the third club representative finishing in 46-36.

The Crowden Horseshoe fell race took place on Sunday near Crowden and Penistone runners were in the prizes. James Fryers was sixth overall and first in the men’s under21 age category. Heather Lindley was first lady in the over60 category, Steve Sanders picked up second in the men’s over50 category and Paul Fryers was third in the men’s over55 age category.

On the parkrun scene Jon Hallam notched up his 450th parkrun at Clevedon Salthouse Fields. At the Nostell Priory parkrun Steve Dickinson completed his 200th parkrun and Mandy Helliwell notched up 100. Penistone ladies Suzanne McGill and Julia Johnson placed first and second respectively at the Nostell Priory parkrun. Hugh Mackie was first at the Hoblingwell parkrun.

40th Anniversary Relay Results

1, Team A (Martin Ball, James Mumford, Ben Malcolm, Steve Dickinson, Dean Allcroft, Paul Fryers, Steve Owen, Tracy Woodward, David Foster) 50-41

2, Team B (Rich Cottam, Will Hoyland, Bill Phillips, Matt Coldwell, Jo Shelbourne, Heath Ramsden, Ray Brown, Barbara Haigh) 51-23

3, Team E (Alex Harris, Ashley Firth, John Lawcock, Suzanne McGill, Ian Wragg, Rory O'Sullivan, Jane Cockerton, Anne Smythe) 51-40

4, Team F (Michael Walsh, Rich Williams, Rachael Mayston, Steve Sanders, Heather Lindley, Peter Beever, Mandy Helliwell, Sarah Norman, Sarah Halstead) 52-04

5, Team D (James Fryers, Jon Hallam, Julia Johnson, Lesley Parker, Peter Gray, Chris Baldwin, Susan Charlesworth, Steve Dommett, Hannah Pedley) 52-17

6, Team C (Matt Robinson, Jon Bentley, Nick Pepper, Michael Nicholson, Helen Milnes, Heather Graham, Myfanwy Cross, Amelia Cottam) 52-50.