Penistone Footpath Runners
Published on

Busy week for runners

A busy week of running for Penistone Footpath runners kicked off with the fifth Trunce of the summer series. George Parr had a strong run to win the race in 27-37. He was followed in by clubmate Richard Cottam who was second in 27-39. Richard also claimed first in the men’s over40 category. Other podium age group finishers were Barbara Haigh (first over70 lady), Lesley Parker (second over40 lady) and Becky Timms (third over40 lady).

The Joe Percy invitation race took place after a two year break and Penistone were invited to enter, one of the few South Yorkshire teams to get an invite to a predominantly West Yorkshire team event run by Holmfirth Harriers. The team competition counts the first ten finishers for each club so strength in depth is key. The ladies team just missed out on a podium place finishing in fourth place. First back for the ladies team was Rachael Mayston in an impressive 45-16 on an undulating course. The men were on course for third place but unfortunately missed out due to one of the team having to withdraw mid race with a calf injury. They only had ten runners in the race so with just nine finishers they were ineligible for the overall team competition. There were plenty of strong runs in the team with inform Andrew Heppenstall first back in a time of 35-58.

There was a large turnout of Penistone runners at the Oughtibridge Chase trail race which also acted as a club championship race. The race was won by former Penistone runner Gareth Cooke in a time of 21-57. First lady back for Penistone was Becky Timms in a time of 30-16, first man back in ninth place overall was Lee Storey in 24-43. There were first place age category wins for Lisa Hinchliffe (over50 ladies), Barbara Haigh (over70 ladies), Martyn Goodwin (over60 men), Bill Phillips (over70 men) and Ray Brown (over80 men). Flynn Rogers claimed third place in the junior race and second boy.

The Penistone 10K road race was held on Sunday. After thunder and lightning overnight, the race was held on a warm, sultry day which provided a real test for the runners on the undulating course. The race this year was sponsored by Barratt/Wilson Homes and one of their employees, Scott Hinchcliffe easily won the race, missing out on his own course record by just 5 seconds. His Barnsley AC team mate, Gary Briscoe, was second with Hallamshire Harriers Jonah Cooper third. The Ladies race was easily won by Wakefield Harriers' Julie Briscoe. Andrew Heppenstall was first Penistone runner home in 6th place, which was good enough to finish third over40 man. Matt Robinson was first over55 man, finishing in tenth place overall. Suzanne McGill was first Penistone lady home and also won the first over45 lady age category. Barbara Haigh was first over70 lady. Penistone triumphed in both the men’s and ladies' team races. George Parr, Alex Harris and Oliver Found counted for the men’s team and Suzanne McGill, Rhianna Banford and Helen Milnes made up the Penistone ladies team.

On the parkrun scene there were first places for Hugh Mackie at the Hoblingwell parkrun and Flynn Rogers at Hillsborough junior parkrun.


Barnsley Parkrun

27, Alan Knox 24-25; 43, Lisa Hinchliffe 26-01; 61, Susan Hall 28-23; 62, Stuart Smith 28-24; 87, Daniel Batty 31-15; 91, Raymond Brown 32-23; 105, John Spencer 37-32.

Penistone Parkrun

3, Lee Storey 18-36; 5, James Fryers 19-40; 7, Gareth Irvine 20-13; 10, George Parr 21-18; 14, Steven John Stead 21-44; 16, David Napier 22-14; 23, Nick Pepper 22-46; 25, Chris Hodgson 23-01; 27, Lee Hopkins 23-09; 33, Elizabeth Deacon 24-02; 37, Oliver Found 24-32; 45, Seuranie Johnstone 25-19; 51, Emma Stead 25-42; 65, Lilian Storey 26-57; 69, Joseph Storey 27-20; 74, Peter Stanley 27-28; 83, Rory O'Sullivan 27-54; 90, Steve Storey 28-44; 99, Eleanor Law 29-31; 100, Kelvin Bowskill 29-31; 136, Kim Rogers 33-07; 138, Sarah Clough 33-18; 153, Dianne McGuinness 37-58.