Penistone Footpath Runners
Published on

Shuffle Success

Penistone runners featured strongly in the first of the Silkstone Shuffle series on a warm Thursday evening. The undulating 4.7 mile trail run starts in Silkstone and heads up to Oxspring before dropping back down into Silkstone for the finish. Third place in the race went to Gareth Irvine who was also the first man over40. Second lady in the race was Suzanne McGill who also collected second over40 lady. Other prize-winners were Simon Pike (second over40 man), John Lawcock (third over50 man), Steve Storey (first over60 man), Stuart Woodhead (second over60 man), Alan Knox (third over60 man), Jo Shelbourne (third over50 lady), Bill Phillips (first over70 man), Barbara Haigh (first over70 lady) and Ray Brown (first over80 man).

Suzanne McGill and Jemma Williams took on the challenging 20 mile Hathersage Hurtle which take place in the Hope Valley and include 2,800 feet of climbing. The event is also is open to walkers and Rachel Mayston and Jill Carlton completed the event via the walk option. In hot sunny conditions Suzanne finished in 3-14-18, Jemma in 3-19-03, Rachel in 5-59-13 and Jill in 5-59-17.

Martyn Goodwin headed to the Lake District to take part in the Latrigg Fell Race in Keswick. He picked up a bronze medal in the men’s over60 age category in a time of 29-49.

Three Penistone runners took part in the Alderman’s fell race. George Parr, Damian Kilpin and Sarah Williams all fared well on the tough course.

On the parkrun scene there were first places for Ben Malcom (Hillsborough) and Flynn Rogers (Barnsley Junior parkrun).


Barnsley parkrun

2, Patrick Needham 19-48; 28, Mark Graham 25-29; 29, Stuart Smith 25-38; 32, Lisa Hinchliffe 25-54; 55, Susan Hall 28-07; 72, Luke McGuinness 29-52; 73, Steve Dommett 29-55; 74, Daniel Batty 30-14; 86, Raymond Brown 32-22.

Penistone parkrun

7, George Parr 20-54; 14, Alex Melhuish 21-52; 17, Nick Wright 22-39; 22, Ashley Howlett 22-55; 24, Richard Docker 23-09; 37, Daniel Cooper 24-07; 47, Peter John Claydon 24-58; 71, Paul Fryers 26-21; 122, Eleanor Law 30-03; 123, Ruth Albaya Melhuish 30-06; 177, Dianne McGuinness 39-10.