Club Championship

2017

Results so far, including the Kimberworth Canal Race, are here. The Barnsley 10K, on November 26th, is the final race in the 2017 Championship.

2018

The format of the Championship has altered for 2018 to try to give more opportunities to more runners within the club, recognising that all have different competing commitments. The competition involves races across three sections; road, off-road (including cross-country) and fell. The Championship comprises 15 fixed races (5 from each section), with the addition of three series of local races: Spencer’s Dash (road), Silkstone Shuffle (off-road) and The Trunce (fell). Members can complete Spencer’s Dash, Silkstone Shuffle and The Trunce as many times as they wish across their respective series, and their season’s best result from each will be counted. This gives 18 events in the Championship competition, and all the races are listed at the bottom of this page with links for further information.

Qualification

Qualification for the section Championships and overall Championship is exactly as in 2017: to qualify for each section you need to compete in at least 3 of the section events, but this is out of 6 events not 5 as before (including, if you wish, the series event, but you don’t have to run the Trunce, Spencer’s or Shuffle).

To qualify for the Overall Championship you have to compete in 9 from the total of 18, with at least 2 of these races from each section. Your 9 best race scores, including the minimum of 2 from each section, will be added together to form an Overall Championship total.

All first claim members are included in the Championship. Juniors running in senior races (where permitted) will be included in the Senior categories. Any member whose club membership payment has not been received by 31 January will only have results counted from the date their subscription has been paid.

Scoring

Because there is more choice of events, and therefore the number of PFR runners at each event is expected to vary more, the way points are scored will be different. Instead of 60 points for the first PFR male and female, 59 for second, etc. each runner will get points for their time relative to the overall race winner (male and female respectively). This is exactly the same as the Fell League. If a PFR runner is first overall, he or she will get 100 points. If your time is exactly double the winner’s time, you get 50 points: Your points from each race are calculated by dividing the winner’s time by your time and multiplying by 100. For the series events, the fastest race winning time of the series will be divided by your best time of the series and multiplied by 100.

The main advantages of this method are: 1) it means that every second you run faster will gain you points (not a lot, but something – unless you are the race winner). Beating another Penistone runner (of the same sex) in a race will always mean you get more points than them – but the bigger the gap you get the more points you gain. 2) you don’t get points as a result of other PFR runners not turning up – you get points for your own performance.

The disadvantage of this method is that your points do depend on how fast the winner is – if Mo Farah or Eilish McColgan turns up to Oughtibridge Chase, the points go down – generally, less popular races will yeald more points. This may help boost less popular races, which is no bad thing.

The Challenge Championship will still be as it currently is – the total points from all qualifying events (including your best Spencer’s Dash, Silkstone Shuffle and Trunce) completed.

We are trialling this method in 2018 and will be asking for feedback towards the end of the year.

Prizes

Your age group for the Championship in any year is determined by your age on January 1st. Prizes will be awarded for each age group for both male and female categories for each section winners, eg Fell Lady Vet 40.

  • The groups are as follows: Male Senior, MV35, MV40, MV45, MV50, MV55, MV60, MV65, MV70, MV75, Female Senior, LV35, LV40, LV45, LV50, LV55, LV60, LV65, LV70.
  • The Sections are Road, Fell and Cross Country.
  • The Overall Champions will be the Male and Female with the best scores from the 9 races needed to qualify.
  • A special prize, and title of Challenge Champion will be given to the runner who acquires the most points from the 18 qualifying events.
  • Run as many or as few races as you want but you must compete in the correct number of races to win an award.

2018 Races

Date Race Enter on day Pre-enter
Sun 4th Feb Dewsbury 10k ? Yes
Sun 25th Feb Hoppits Hill Race Yes No
Sat 10th Mar Silkstone Shuffle 1 Yes No
Sun 18th Mar Wolf’s Pit Yes No
Mon 26th Mar Trunce 1 Yes No
Wed 4th Apr Spencer’s Dash 1 Yes No
Mon 16th Mar Trunce 2 Yes No
Sun 22nd Apr Kinder Downfall No Yes
Mon 30th Apr Trunce 3 Yes No
Wed 2nd May Spencer’s Dash 2 Yes No
Sat 12th May Furty Furlong Yes Yes
Mon 21st May Trunce 4 Yes No
Wed 6th Jun Spencer’s Dash 3 Yes No
Mon 11th Jun Trunce 5 Yes No
Wed 13th Jun Oughtibridge Chase Yes No
Sat 16th Jun Silkstone Shuffle 2 Yes No
Mon 2nd Jul Trunce 6 Yes No
Wed 4th Jul Spencer’s Dash 4 Yes No
Sat 14th Jul Thurlstone Chase Yes Yes
Thurs 19th Jul Huddersfield 5k Yes Yes
Mon 23rd Jul Trunce 7 Yes No
Wed 1st Aug Spencer’s Dash 5 Yes No
Sun 12th Aug Askern 10 mile ? ?
Mon 13th Aug Trunce 8 Yes No
Sun 2nd Sept Wetherby 10k No Yes
Mon 3rd Sept Trunce 9 Yes No
Wed 5th Sept Spencer’s Dash 6 Yes No
Sat 22nd Sept Silkstone Shuffle 3 Yes No
Sun 23rd Sept Penistone Hill Race (date tbc) Yes Yes
Sun 28th Oct SY Cross-Country Race 2 (date/venue tbc) No Yes
Sun 11th Nov Leg it Round Lathkil Yes No
Sun 25th Nov Clowne HM (date tbc) ? Yes
Sat 1st Dec Silkstone Shuffle 4 Yes No
Sun 30th Dec Amble’s Revenge (date tbc) Yes Yes

Green=Road         Blue=Cross Country         Orange=Fell

All Championship races are highlighted in yellow in the Events Diary.

Past Championship Results

PFR Championship results from previous years can be found from the links below:

Comments are closed.